Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros: Here


Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
(Vagrant Records)

Buy it at Amazon!

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros makes a not-so-triumphant return with their latest album, Here, with its slow-paced , 70’s folk, southern twang rock-inspired melodies. The band is most popular for their acclaimed single, “Home,” as well as for  “40 Day Dream” and “Janglin,” which are bubbly, upbeat favorites from Up From Below.

Here is an album that builds on the purgative, collective aura the band has developed. Opening with the whispers and quiet haunting of “Man On Fire.” The lead singer, Alex Ebert hums chants followed by light strumming and a profusion of vocal backups.

“I Don’t Wanna Pray” and “Dear Believer” set the tone for the album and use religion-inspired lyrics such as, “I love my God, God made love” and “Lifting us soundly back into the world/May we sing the earth, heaven’s breath.”

“Man On Fire,” “That’s What’s Up,” and “I Don’t Wanna Pray” resonate a country hoedown style that discusses heartache and pain. Alex Ebert takes over with his light strumming, resembling a Johnny Cash appeal while female lead Jade Castrinos’ distinct falsetto voice captivates “That’s What’s Up.”

“That’s Whats Up” is a catchy tranquil tune, singing “Hey! Hey! Love! We’ve been best friends forever darling. That’s what’s up!” Ebert and Castrinos harmonize on a love-infused track, “You’ve got my love to lean on darling.”

Here is Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros’ second album that defines their newfangled depths as an indie band. A southern indie folk twang with poignant tracks ignite the band’s new approach.

Related Posts with Thumbnails


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here